A Brief Word about Non-Union Voiceover Rates

2 May

There is no shortage of blog posts, LinkedIn group discussions, or online articles about what voiceover artists should be paid for their non-union work. There are some who will work for any rate they can get, and there are some who have a set fee schedule by which they live and die. I have had the experience of turning down jobs because the rate offered was too low, and I have had my auditions not lead to paying gigs because my requested rate was too high. Two sides of the same coin.

There is no right answer, no magical voiceover rate, which is why this blog entry is destined to be brief. Both Voice123.com and Voices.com offer “suggested rates” (http://support.voice123.com/article/How_Much_Are_Talents_and_Voice_Producers_Charging_for_Non-Union_Voice_Over_Work_Delivered_Online.html and http://www.voices.com/rates). I find both of these pages helpful, though ironically, not representative of the majority of job listings on either of those sites.

As mentioned previously, one thing I liked about Elance.com is that artists can see the low, high, and average proposal bids of auditions already sent for each job listing. It gives some context to the general categorization of “pays under $500” or “$1000-$2500” or what have you. Elance also lets clients reject bids based on fee alone, giving voiceover talent the option to revise their bid lower (if they feel that is a reasonable action).

As I also mentioned previously, Elance voiceover jobs seemed to pay lower than other P2P sites’ jobs. Though I don’t want to give away any juicy details about my next entry (“30 Days on Voices.com”), I wonder if rates on *all* the P2P sites are lower than what I thought. After all, most listings on Voice123 and Voices offer a rate range, and artists are able to propose whatever amount they choose. In other words, perhaps Elance does NOT pay less than the other sites, but is just more transparent about what jobs are paying. Something to chew on.

And speaking of Elance, I did not get any VO gigs on that site last month. This coming month, I am trying something new: Before sending my audition and proposal for each Elance job, I viewed the average proposed fee already submitted and used that number on my proposal. If the average proposal fee for recording a 10,000 word eBook was $645, that’s what I submitted as my bid. While this may lead to some trouble (i.e., I’ll have to make good on my word and do a few jobs that way underpay), it will be worth it to satisfy my curiosity… and to report my findings back to you.

I also did an experiment like this on Voices.com, but you’ll have to wait until next week to hear about it.

Cheers, and thanks for reading!

Wendy

Follow me on Twitter @AlgranatiW

Website & demos at http://www.wendyalgranati.com

One Response to “A Brief Word about Non-Union Voiceover Rates”

  1. Wendy Algranati May 24, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    Wondering how my experiment on Voices.com turned out? Read it here: https://algranatiw.wordpress.com/2012/05/24/p2p-voices-com-part-4-in-a-series/

Leave a Reply

